The Presidents Of Churches Together In England Express Solidarity With Coptic Christians

The Presidents of Churches Together in England express solidarity with Coptic Christians

The Presidents of Churches Together in England are:

The Most Revd and Rt Hon Justin Welby, Archbishop of Canterbury

HE Cardinal Vincent Nichols, Archbishop of Westminster

HE Archbishop Gregorios of Thyateira and Great Britain

The Revd Dr Hugh Osgood, Free Churches Moderator

Bishop Eric Brown

Billy Kennedy

They have authorised the release of the following statement:

‘We are united in prayer for the bereaved families of the twenty-one Coptic Christians murdered yesterday for no reason other than their faith. As Presidents of Churches Together in England, and on behalf of its forty-three member churches, we wish to stand in solidarity with our brothers and sisters in the Coptic Church as they witness to peace in the midst of violence and brutality.

In the name of Jesus Christ, the Prince of Peace, we pray also for those who perpetrate such atrocities against those of all faiths and none, that they may understand that each human life is sacred and beautiful to God. ‘


  1. CTE Purpose: ‘Churches Together in England unites in pilgrimage those churches in England which, acknowledging God’s revelation in Christ, confess the Lord Jesus Christ as God and Saviour according to the Scriptures, and, in obedience to God’s will and in the power of the Holy Spirit commit themselves a) to seek a deepening of their communion with Christ and with one another in the Church, which is his body; and b) to fulfil their mission to proclaim the Gospel by common witness and service in the world to the glory of the one God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit.’
  2. There are six Presidents of Churches Together in England:
  • The Archbishop of Canterbury (Archbishop Justin Welby)
  • The Cardinal Archbishop of Westminster (Cardinal Vincent Nichols)
  • The Free Churches Moderator (Revd Dr Hugh Osgood)
  • The Fourth President nominated by the other churches in England including Lutheran, the Religious Society of Friends, ie the Quakers and the new churches (Billy Kennedy from Pioneer)
  • Orthodox (HE Archbishop Gregorios of Thyateira and Great Britain)
  • Pentecostal (Bishop Eric Brown)
  1. In June 2002 the then Presidents signed a Personal Covenant in the presence of HM The Queen, at Windsor. This Covenant has subsequently been signed by new Presidents as they are appointed.
  2. Further information on
  3. For futher information contact